If You Eat Your Feelings, Make ‘Em Delicious! Baked Fudge

This is the post that is going to make you realize that I am a bad influence on you your new best friend.

It wasn’t an exceptionally stressful 12 hour shift today. I’m pretty sure I screwed something up to the point that I will likely hear about it. Nobody died, but that doesn’t matter. I’m stressed, I’m restless and I’m hungry.

So what’s better than drowning in your own self-loathing? Eating an amazingly delicious treat too late in the evening! I’ll hate myself in the morning. Remember though, I promised myself to live in the present.

Well, here we are friends, in the now.

Tonight, my feelings are going to taste like Baked Fudge. Very easy to make and the upside is that there’s a waiting period. It takes 45-50 minutes to bake, giving you time to think it through.

Should I eat this wonderful cup of joy at midnight?

Hell yea you should.   Just don’t do this everyday. Lucky for you, the recipe I am going to share with you doesn’t make very much. I usually split the batter into 3 individual 8oz, stoneware ramekins AKA little stoneware baking bowls.

image

Flour,cocoa, sugar

 

Delicious batter…

 

Don't mind my outdated counter tops. I don't.

Don’t mind my outdated counter tops.

 

Three 8oz ramekins

Three 8oz ramekins

 

Place the ramekins into a pan that is half filled with water.

image

The recipe I am using, and will provide below, will fill an 8 inch square baking dish. I like the ramekins because they assist with portion control.  Since I don’t have a lot of self control, they come in handy.  Also, if you want to make this for friends then you can share them individually, making their baked fudge experience extra special.

Bake for 40-50 minutes until the upper crust is crispy and the rest of the batter is firm but not set. If you do the toothpick test, it shouldn’t come out clean. Your batter shouldn’t be runny.  If you pull this out of the oven and you’re not sure, put it back in for a couple more minutes.

Perfecto!

Perfecto!

Closer inspection?

Perfect- The upper crust should be crispy and will look like this.

Perfect- The upper crust should be crispy and will look like this.

What’s also great about this treat is that you can chose to use a topping, or not. Whipped cream is always good, so are strawberries and raspberries. Strawberries and raspberries are my two favorite fruits to enjoy with chocolate! I threw in the recipe to make your own whipped cream at the bottom.

Baked Fudge

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of cocoa – I used Hershey’s unsweetened
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

To prepare:

Preheat your oven to 300-325 degrees, depending on your oven. I use a gas range and set my heat at 325 degrees.

Beat the eggs until they are light in color. Add sugar and beat until the mixture is well combined. Add the cocoa, flour, melted butter and Vanilla Extract. Mix until the batter is well combined.

Pour the batter into your ramekins or an 8 inch, square baking dish. Set the ramekins or the baking dish into a larger pan that is half filled with water.

Bake for 40-50 minutes or until the upper crust is crispy and the rest of the batter is firm, but not runny. If you do the toothpick test, it should not come out clean. If you remove your baked fudge from the over and you have second thoughts you can always stick it back in for a couple of more minutes.

I check on them after 45 minutes to see how they look. I usually bake them for 50 minutes and they are always perfect.

Like I mentioned above, I prefer to use a fruit topping, if I even add a topping. I also enjoy making my own whipped cream vs using store bought.

To make your own whipped cream, you will need:

  • 2 cups of heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons sugar

Add the heavy cream and the sugar to a medium size bowl.  I use a regular hand held mixer, set on high. Mix the cream and sugar on high until the cream transitions into the whipped cream you know and love.  This can take up to 3-5 minutes.

When it’s done, you can either cover the bowl and use it or place the whipped cream into another container with a lid to keep in the refrigerator until it’s ready to be used again.

1913922_10207645617446206_4982674002016642745_n

Almost done!

I’ve had an hour to think about it. I am totally going to enjoy a ramekin of baked fudge goodness.  The other two I will save and take with me to work so I can have something sweet with my dinner.

This recipe is so easy and the result is so yummy!

What’s your favorite late night mistake snack?

3 thoughts on “If You Eat Your Feelings, Make ‘Em Delicious! Baked Fudge

Leave a Reply

