Enjoy the Silence

image

Solitude in the pines.

I went for a walk in my usual place. I have a lot of thinking to do, this is the best place to do it. I have a lot on my mind. Big stuff. Life stuff. Future stuff. Stuff stuff. I needed to get out and breathe and enjoy some solitude.

I arrived to find the parking lot by the trail head empty. My favorite way to find it.  There had been a recent snow fall.  There was evidence of a plow truck coming through and the county parks department that came earlier to unlock the front gate.

The sun was making an appearance. It was 18 degrees, but it didn’t feel that cold.  There was enough snow on the ground that I almost could have justified wearing my snow shoes. I didn’t bring them though. I’m starting to wonder, as January comes to a close, if we will have enough snow this year to  be able to get them out.

I know, be careful what you wish for.  The eastern United States is dealing with a snow storm that around here we just call “winter”. I’m certainly not downplaying the situation out east, we are just used to it here. I live near Lake Michigan and we experience the phenomenon of “lake effect snow“, where we will get a lot of snow dumped on us.

The systems can be pretty crazy. Sometimes you can actually see it ahead of you. You can actually see the outline of the snow on the wind as it’s blowing. Often, you can be stuck in the middle of a white out ( where you can see nothing) while two miles away, the sun is out and they don’t even know it’s snowing down the road.

Sadly, we don’t experience any sort of phenomenon of “lake effect sun”. That’s does not appear to exist. We actually experience more overcast days because of the lake. I love that lake though, don’t let me fool you. I am a huge fan of it and the sand dunes.

On my way to the park I passed a local in his little pick up truck. I know him because I met him on Instagram. He and I are the only people who regularly tag our locations for our photography. I don’t know his real name, but I can point him out in a line up.  He loves the park as much as I do and he runs the trails.  He was there. I recognized his footprints.

I ventured out. Since we were alone, I allowed Lu off the leash. It really doesn’t matter either way, she’s always behind me. It’s a cattle dog thing. Every now and then I instruct her to “go on” and she’ll run a hundred or so yards ahead of me, stop and turn around and run back. It’s always good to let them go and be a dog. Sniff around, dig in the snow a little, run, stalk a chipmunk.

We were spotted by two White Tail Deer who took off through the woods.  Lu and I watched from a distance as they jumped over the downed trees and brush. Then they stopped to watch us to determine if the intruders were any kind of threat to them.

We made our way through the trails. I am fairly predictable here. We completed our loop, stopping on the pier at Lancaster Lake. It has finally frozen over. There was evidence of critters that had been taking short cuts across the frozen water.

Breathe in, breathe out. Repeat. It was simply the perfect morning.

I forgot to think about much else.

I think that’s the point in this…

6 thoughts on “Enjoy the Silence

  1. ReadBetweentheLyme says:

    One of my favorite things is the kind of silence snow brings. It’s a deep and sensual silence. I miss it. I’m from Upstate NY bit been in Texas for about 30 years now. There is no silence like the snow silence. The pictures make me feel so peaceful. Thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennlives says:

      Yes! That is the perfect way to describe it. One of my favorite things to do ( pre Lyme ) was to jump on my horse during the full moon when there was snow on the ground. We would take off on the trails through the woods and out into the open fields. There was nothing more peaceful for me than that. The moon lit up the snow and it was like the day time. Cars and people would pass and not even know we were there.
      I’ve been to Texas, it has been several years now. 2001 maybe? I drove down to Star and stayed for a couple of days. It certainly has a lot of beauty of its own. I think the stars really are brighter down there!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. HikingGirlWithDog says:

    Hmm..now I wonder if my dog has a cattle dog in her DNA. She always follows me too. Funny you recognized the guy from Instagram. Haha. I can relate to that.

    Thanks for following me. 😊 They say third time is the charm. Good luck with your blog!!

    Like

    • jennlives says:

      Ha! I have “lost” her a couple of time. I would stand there and call out for her and reach the point of near panic to realize that she was behind me the whole time. Every time I moved, she moved too. Just out of my line of vision. I’ve felt pretty stupid more than once, ha! In slang terms, they call that being velcro. Lu and her red heeler sister, Hilli are both very velcro. They don’t understand personal space.
      I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog. You’re a great writer and your photo’s are great!! I’m feeling pretty good about this blog. Trying something different and it feels more like “me”. Thank you also for the follow, I am looking forward to following along on yours.

      Liked by 1 person

      • HikingGirlWithDog says:

        Haha! I’ve done that too! I turned and she wasn’t there so I called her name panicking then I realized she was moving behind me as I moved and turned. Hilarious! Thank you for the kind words. I don’t know about being a good writer but I like sharing my adventures with kindred spirits. Glad you enjoyed it. “..it feels like more like ‘me'”, I think that’s the key. Being authentic. Have fun with it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

