Throw Back- Two Years Ago Today

Yesterday, I wrote about the “On This Day” app that you can use on FaceBook that will show you every post you made on a specific date in previous years.  It’s a really neat thing to have and I think it’s fun to see what I was doing then and to read through the comment threads.

Today I got to see more posts that I made regarding the huge snowstorm that we had in January of 2014.  On this date, two years ago, I was still shoveling snow. More snow. We referred to it all as “Snowmaghedon” and the “Snowpacyplse”. We had a regional travel ban for days where if you got caught out on the roads you could be given a ticket and even taken to jail.

Lucky for me I am considered essential and I was permitted to be out on the roads. It was actually kind of nice ( and fun) to be out and about when no one else was. The streets were pretty empty.

In the photo below, I had just shoveled a new path out to the street. Dingo Lu is sitting on the steps, supervising my work. She’s clearly not impressed. She doesn’t care for the snow at all. She doesn’t get excited about it or want to play in it the way that Sasha (the Rottweiler) does.

The curb to the street is actually about a foot and a half from the tree. The snow probably came up to just above my knees. As you can see, the snow is pretty deep out into the street. This is due to the issue I mention yesterday about people not moving the I cars for the plows and the plows not being able to get in to plow the snow.

This is why I had to constantly keep up with shoveling so I would have a place to park.  The plows can only do so much people people don’t want to comply. Our street kept getting narrower and narrower.

Today in 2016, with the exception of what is piled up in parking lots, we have no snow on the ground. It actually rained the other night for a little while. I know I keep sending myself the reminder about how I should be careful what I wish for, but I still hope we get a fair amount of snow before Spring.  There’s still time.

It seems typical around here to usually have a fairly cold January and the real snow doesn’t come until February and early March. Weather forecasters always seem to convince their viewers that our weather is doing strange things. I agree that sometimes it does, but it really doesn’t for the most part.  I snows in the winter and gets hot in the summer.

It annoys me and I find it irresponsible how the weather gets dramatized. It’s my opinion that it sets people up to get hurt. After awhile nobody takes anything seriously, then when something big is coming people won’t prepare themselves.

I watched the Weather Channel last weekend and did a lot of hard eye rolls at the reporters who dramatized the situation they were in. One of them went on and on about snow plows and wow can they talk a lot to fill the segments.  Then another was losing their mind over a couple inches of snow. Even the people in Central Park were looking at this person like “Why are you making such a big deal about this?”

I am not downplaying the situation out east. I know a lot of places got hammered. It’s not normal to get what they got in the Carolinas, I get that. I just don’t think we need to make a whole lot of something out of nothing. It’s dangerous.

Anyway, I miss the snow. Sasha misses the snow. I also posted the photo’s below on this day in 2014. Dingo Lu was simply not impressed. Sasha is so funny. I had a videos also but I couldn’t save it from FaceBook. Too bad too, Sasha was going nuts playing in the snow.

Lu stole Sasha's bone but Sasha didn't mind because she was too busy enjoying the snow.

Lu stole Sasha’s bone but Sasha didn’t mind because she was too busy enjoying the snow.

 

Lu overseeing my snow removal efforts.

Lu overseeing my snow removal efforts.

 

Sidenote, the spiffy green house is currently for sale. I really miss the woman and her dog that used to live here.

2 thoughts on “Throw Back- Two Years Ago Today

  1. heroesnpirates says:

    I’m with you on the ridiculous pandering of weather forecasts. I can’t take watching the news AT ALL, it’s so patronizing and dumbed down, it makes me sick. January 27 of last year I wrote a post called Snowstorm Shmowstorm that parodied their idiocy. 🙂

    Like

    • jennlives says:

      I blame parts of the Hurricane Katrina on the media.. You can only cry wolf for so long before you lose your credibility and that’s part of what happened here. It’s like the story “Emperors New Clothes” with the storms out east and the reporters out there acting like they are amazed at all this snow and it was only a couple of inches in Central Park. Trying to convince the people standing around them that it was so horrible. It wasn’t.

      Like

Leave a Reply

