Goodbye To Winter

I believe that we have seen the last of the snowfall for the year. The temperatures are starting to rise and soon the remaining ice and snow will melt and leave us with a muddy mess for awhile.

I’m okay with that.

Next week our temps will be in the upper 50’s and lower 60’s. It’s early though, I know. March comes in like a lion and out like a lamb, they say. In a matter of an hour we had rain, freezing rain, ice and then snow. I went to Target for twenty five minutes and walked out to an inch of snow on the ground.

This morning the air was foggy, the ground was icy but at least the sky was sunny. The sun always helps to make up for the things going on around you. It does for me at least.

This winter wasn’t much of a winter. We had some periods of snow but not as much as we have in the past two years or that I can remember. It didn’t get nearly as cold either.  I’m okay with that too. Old houses get drafty.

I only got to use my snowshoes once but I still got outside and hiked frequently. I really don’t mind that it didn’t snow much, I hate to drive when the weather is bad. Considering that I live in southern Michigan and northern Indiana, you would think that people would remember that we deal with this every year, but they always forget how to drive etc.

It sure can be pretty to look at. I snapped the photo below when I decided to take an alternative route home after I dropped my son off at school. I couldn’t help but stop to admire the red barn and the snow. The silence.

The lane at Johnson's Tree Farm

The lane at Johnson’s Tree Farm

So long Winter, you still technically have a few more days until it’s officially Spring, but I think you’re done until next year. At least I hope so. I’m totally ready for warm weather.  I’m also ready for the possibilities the rest of the year will bring.

What about you? Do you enjoy the winter time?

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “Goodbye To Winter

Leave a Reply

