Another Unsuccessful Interaction With A Fellow Human

Sometimes we have interactions with other Human Beings that are simply memorable. The way that we treat each other can be pretty appalling sometimes. It seems like quite often, the bad can outweigh the good. We can definitely be selfish and fail to look past our own noses.

I’ve learned to stop taking things personally and just go with the flow. People and their behavior is generally all about them and has nothing to do with you. Most of the time, sometimes you’re really a jerk too. Either way, I don’t offer much of a reaction. Usually.

I swear that if I didn’t have my sense of humor, I would have nothing at all. I see humor in almost everything that I come across, or at least I try to. I try not to get involved and pass by most opportunities to call people out. Usually.

Here is what happened today.

My ex husband and I meet every other weekend to do a custody exchange in the parking lot of a travel plaza that is in the middle of where each of us live. While I am sitting at the stop light, I take note that I need gas. I look over at the pumps and see that all of them are full and each of them have a line.

I sent a text to the ex to let him know that I had to get in line for gas. He says ok and he’s still a few minutes out. The arrow turns green and I pull into the lot and up to the pumps. As I mentioned before, they are all taken and there is a line.

I get behind a black SUV. The pump is hanging out of the gas tank. The screen indicates that it has stopped at $20. There is nobody with it. There’s nobody in the drivers seat.  So I am thinking, ok, maybe they haven’t pumped yet and they ran inside to go pay and they’ll be right back. I wait.

Ten minutes goes past.

I am watching the other pumps and some of the ones far off are starting to clear up, but there are still cars pulling in and taking them.  I run the risk of not being able to get one and losing my place in line.

So, this is where it begins. It has been twelve minutes since I pulled in behind this SUV. I make the decision to get out and walk up to the passenger side where an older woman is sitting in the seat. I said, “Hi ma’am, would it be okay to move your car so I can pull in?”

She looks at the building almost as if, where the heck are they?  She doesn’t even bother to look at me and doesn’t say a word. I go back to my car and get in like “whatever”.  I sat there for another couple of minutes. I look and see another pump on the other side has come open so I decide to make a break for it.

I pull around and I see that she is now out of the car and taking the pump out of the tank and putting it back.

I say “Never mind now,” to her over the pump.

This was clearly my fatal error because she angrily responds

“You could’ve gone to another pump they were all open when you got here.”

“No, they were all full and you wouldn’t know when I got here because you’ve been on your phone the whole time,”

Nope, that statement was my fatal error. This was when she began screaming at me like a deranged chipmunk on crack. Except, I was mostly focused on the fact that she didn’t have any teeth.I didn’t even hear what she was saying. All I could think was.

“Bitch, where your teeth at?”

Also, do you remember that show Wife Swap that was popular a couple of years ago? Do you also remember the episode where one of the wives has a melt down and goes nuts proclaiming that she was a “God warrior”.  You didn’t have to see that episode because it was all over the gossip shows and was also a pretty popular meme for awhile. You’ll recognize her as she’s in the photo below.

Bitch, where your teeth at?

Marguerite Perrin

This woman looked and sounded just like her. As she got angrier at me, her eyes got bigger and wider and her mouth even larger as she spoke. All I could focus on was the slobber and spit coming out of her mouth as she went on and on. Seriously, where are your teeth?

She continues to yell at me. I tell her to go get back in your car.  This pisses her off too.

She informs me that it isn’t her car. Okay, you have the keys in the ignition and I’m pretty sure you can drive.  She counters that with a toothless “You need to shut up,”  Oh okay, this is getting awesome so I laughed at her and said “No you shu-up,” (Like shaaaa uup.)

I’m pretty sure she took that as a “you don’t have teeth joke” and then she starts walking towards me.  Now I am like, great, I am about to get wailed on by  a middle aged woman who thinks she is about to get in my face. She has no idea who I am or anything about me or the fact that picking a fight with me will be a huge mistake on her part.

I just kind of looked at her all annoyed, like “Lady, I would kill you in a fight,”

She’s getting just close enough and saying just enough to get her in and out of the trouble zone at the same time.  I look up at the cameras. At least I had them going for me, so when I knock this woman out, and they call the police,  they’ll see that she friggin attacked me.

I flat out tell her to back away from my vehicle. She looks me up and down, obeys the order and then starts running her mouth.  I’m starting to get more annoyed than I am angry but she’s  creating a scene. People are starting to stare at us.

Now she turns around and starts yelling at another group of people who are standing on the other side of the pumps. There are approximately six people standing around another SUV except they all have their luggage out of the car for some reason and they are all standing around their suitcases.

I can’t hear everything that she’s saying but I can tell that she’s trying to get their attention and wants someone to come over to where we were standing. She stops paying attention to me. I hang up the pump, grab my receipt and then get into my car and pull off. Engaging into further shenanigans with these people would just get me into trouble.

I pull into the lot next to the ex. We chat for a moment about the weekend when I see this black SUV pull into a parking space on the other side of the McDonald’s drive-thru.  Just about that time, I see an older male and four younger people following behind him. They were all carrying bags from the McDonald’s. They get into this black SUV.

So, what happened was, they decided to pull in to get gas and while it was pumping, go to the restaurant side, order and then wait for this huge order of food from McDonald’s. Not even giving anyone else any kind of consideration that it was super busy and people were waiting to buy gas.

By this time, twenty five minutes had passed. That was just the time I had spent in the travel plaza. I couldn’t even tell you how long that SUV had been sitting there before I even pulled up to get in line behind it.

I tell the ex that story, we laugh. Then we watch as they leave. She doesn’t even look in my direction as she’s leaving. I watch her pull out onto the highway and wait at the light. I had a momentary feeling of dread that I would have to spend the next hour dealing with them on the highway with my ten year old in the car.  They had Illinois plates, so it would have made sense if they had gone north.

They went south. Thanks be to God.

I’m pretty sure that this woman was already having a terrible day. I try not to judge people based on their bad moments in life. Or she could really just be this way all the time. Who knows, deep down, I don’t care.

As I think about this situation further I do have some questions. First, where are your teeth? She seemed to be type that was able to buy herself some dentures.  Why are they not in your mouth? Is it uncomfortable to travel with your teeth?

Seriously, where are your teeth?

 

3 thoughts on “Another Unsuccessful Interaction With A Fellow Human

  1. rontuaru says:

    OMG! I’m sorry, but this just made my day look oh, so much brighter! That said, I commend you on your restraint. I would have been sorely tempted to pound the snot out of her. At least you wouldn’t have wrecked her teeth! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • jennlives says:

      I’m glad that I gave you a chuckle. She was ridiculous. If she had been dumb enough to get too close I would have put my hands on her. I think that she was considering it but knew better. I would have kicked her ass. Middle aged or not, you don’t put your hands on people. The other thing too is that, you don’t know people these days. Other people could have hurt her just for the sake of doing it because she was fairly threatening. I don’t know if I would go picking fights with people who also had the courage to ask you to move your car and then argue with you about it either. I think that she was just counting on me not being an actual maniac.

      I’m still wondering where the hell her teeth were. Also, what did she order from McDonald’s that she was able to chew without having any teeth.. Seriously.

      Like

Leave a Reply

