Happy Belated St. Patrick’s Day And Other Stuff

Happy Belated St. Patrick's Day

Happy Belated St. Patrick’s Day

I love St Patrick’s Day, but unfortunately, depending on what day of the week it falls, you may be celebrating a week before the actual holiday. That’s what happened this year. The holiday was on Thursday, March 17th. Most cities celebrated the weekend before. On the actual day, it almost felt as if the holiday had already past. I guess technically it had.  The rivers had already been dyed green and all of the cool pub crawls, parades and other festivities had already been done.

On St. Patrick’s Day, I went up to Chicago to enjoy the city for a couple of hours. I was attending a performance of the Blue Man Group at the Briar Street Theatre later in the evening. The initial plan after my arrival was to visit the Shedd Aquarium. It had been awhile since my last visit. The place is really big and it can literally take all day to get through all of it.

When we got there, the line was all the way out to the street. We stood in that line for almost an hour. When we were finally allowed to have access to the building to buy the tickets, the line for that was probably also an hour long.

You know the line is long when you measure it in hours.

I checked the time on my phone and saw that the aquarium closed in three hours and that there wasn’t enough time to get in and then to be able to see even half of it.  Tickets are fairly pricey at around $50.00 just to only see a very small portion.  So, we decided to go and do something else.

I ended up at the Willis Tower ( formerly the Sears Tower ) to go up to the Sky Deck. The day was gorgeous and the skies were blue and clear. This means that the view from the top of the building would be phenomenal.

I stood in that line for almost three hours. Ugh.  I also kept watching the time because I had to be at the Briar Street Theatre by 8pm. When it was getting close to 5:30 pm and I was about to pass out from the heat and hunger, I started to get worried that we would be late.

We all stood in line to go up to the Sky Deck so we could walk around for less than 15 minutes, snap some photo’s and then get into another line to get on the elevator to go back down.  Time well spent. *hard eye roll*

It was still fun though. Had a blast that day. One of my taxi drivers was simply hilarious. I had the best burger I’ve eaten recently at  Clark Street Dog. This place is amazing. If you’re in the area, be sure to stop in for a bite to eat.

This was the second time I have seen the Blue Man Group perform at the Briar Street Theatre and as expected, they were awesome. The show is so much fun! I recommend seeing a performance if you get the chance. Check out their website at blueman.com

I couldn’t have asked for a better day. The weather was perfect. I snapped a few photo’s and placed them in the gallery below, I hope that you will check them out.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Belated St. Patrick’s Day And Other Stuff

Leave a Reply

