Easter Weekend: Part One

I got to enjoy a rare weekend off where my son was also at home. It was a bonus that it was Easter weekend. Easter is my favorite religious holiday. I was raised Roman Catholic and Easter was highly celebrated for obvious reasons.

Even if you aren’t a believer in Christ, you have to agree that the drama surrounding his crucifixion is pretty wild and is a fantastic story. It has everything Humans seem to want just short of a cage fight.  With that said, I don’t want to pander to either side of the religious debate. We all have our own ideas so instead, I’m just going to tell you what we did this weekend.

We cleaned up around this place.  How about that for excitement?

Dom didn’t have school on Friday (Good Friday) as it was the end of the school semester.  I was really happy about that because 1. I got to sleep in past 6:30 am. 2. He has spent the last two weekends at his dad’s house. I haven’t gotten to spend a lot of time with him. I got to hog his adorableness all weekend.

The first project I wanted to tackle this weekend was the awful backyard.  I didn’t. I tackled the inside of the house instead. I rearranged the furniture in the kitchen, cleaned the wood floors in the entire house and caught up most of the laundry. I feel so much better.

Yesterday we tackled the awful backyard.  It snowed fairly early in the fall and was consistent enough at first that I didn’t bother raking the remainder of the leaves.  I just let it go. I also let go of cleaning dog waste from the yard. I can’t blame all of that on the snow.  Hilli was also using the deck as a toilet and I didn’t keep up with that as often as I should have either.

I know. Gross.

I only filled up four grocery bags of poo. With three dogs, I expected more. There probably was but it disintegrated over the months with the rain and snow. Gross.  I really hope  my yard doesn’t smell bad to my neighbors. I was pretty embarrassed. It’s done though and it’s supposed to rain tonight and tomorrow so hopefully it washes away the yuck for good.

Dom on stick patrol

Dom on stick patrol

Dom was very helpful and picked up sticks and branches for me. He had a great time wheeling around our yard cart and filling it up. Lu kept bringing him her ball to throw.  I paid him back in tacos and ice cream. Our two favorite things.

I filled up several yard bags with leaves and debris. There are six bags, in case you wondered.. The city does a pick up once a week. My next move is to drag all of this mess to the curb this coming Thursday. Yay me! If you look at the bottom right of the photo you’ll see the dead Boston Fern that I swore ALL summer I was going to bring in and keep alive. Fail.

Anyone need a kiddie pool!?

Anyone need a kiddie pool!?

I never in a million years would’ve posted a before photo of this mess.

Almost done!!

Done for now

I still have to clean up the leaves that are trapped in the bushes in the front yard. After I get that accomplished I won’t do anything for at least another month. I don’t generally buy flowers or put decorations outside until at least mid May.  I’m really anxious to get my deck put together.

Im going to put up little fences along the privacy fence to keep the dogs out of the flower beds. I’m also going to choke the rabbit that keeps eating my hostas with my bare hands.  My neighbor is taking care of the squirrel problem.

The only other big thing I want to do is to replace the red mulch I laid out two years ago. It has faded a bit. I’m going to replace it with more red mulch.

As you can see in the photo, my house is blue. The red mulch looked awesome with the blue house. I suppose I can mulch any time. All of the stores are already selling it.

My house. Taken in early summer after I mulched the the front and side.

My house. Taken in early summer after I mulched the the front and side.

 

Ugh. I really want to pull those bushes out.  Or I need to at least learn how to prune them properly.  One thing at a time.  I enjoy yard work to an extent.  I have a few ideas for the back yard but I think with the exception of those crazy bushes, I like how it is already.

I’m so ready for warmer weather.

 

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

