Easter Weekend- Part Three- Hiking, Tacos and Ice Cream

Easter morning at our house was pretty awesome. I was off from work for the first time in years.  I don’t even recall the last time. I got to sleep in a little bit. Of course sleeping past 6:30 in the morning is considered sleeping in around here. It’s glorious to be able to do that.

We had colored eggs on Friday afternoon so I had them carefully hidden around the house. As Dom was searching for them I had to laugh at myself because I forgot to count how many I had hidden. We started out with two dozen but a few of them ended up as a snack. Oops. I’m pretty sure he found them all.

Dom loved his Easter basket.

After lunch, we went to Dom’s grandmothers house to drop off her Easter basket. Then we made the twenty minute drive to Potato Creek State Park to do some hiking.  The weather was perfect. Blue skies and a lot of sunshine with a breeze. It was nice.

I let Dom explore along the shore of Worster Lake for awhile before we headed out on the trail.  We walked along for probably a half an hour before I realized that Deer Ticks seemed to be falling from the sky. They were popping up everywhere.  By a fluke, I spotted a tiny one on Dom’s pant leg.

Since I am recovering from Lyme Disease, this makes me very nervous and I decided that we needed to leave and do something else.  I can’t afford to put myself into the position to reinfect and I certainly don’t want Dom to be infected.

I had friends come out of the park after a brief hike and between the three of them they had removed 11 Deer Ticks. This made me feel a bit frantic to get home and check Dom and myself and change our clothes. depending on their stage in life, Deer Ticks can be as small as a poppy seed. It just wasn’t worth the risk.

Aside from my paranoia, we had a really great Easter. We stopped for ice cream on the way home. It doesn’t seem like anyone closes for the holiday anymore. Dom wanted Tacos for dinner so of course, that’s what we had. It was awesome.  After dinner we enjoyed watching some movies Dom had gotten for Christmas.

Below is my usual gallery of photographs taken from our adventure. I hope you’ll check them out.

I hope everyone is having a great week!

 

 

Leave a Reply

