Farewell Sweet Prince- The Death of Prince Rogers Nelson

I grew up the baby of three children to a single mother who never stayed home. I was a shy child who preferred to play alone because sometimes other people were too hard. I often felt  judged by other children and adults. I didn’t feel accepted. I was different and it wasn’t okay. Needless to say, I was very lonely.

I did however have access to records, tapes and eventually CD’s and MTV. Specific artists and musicians became my best friends and family . Music is the invisible, yet tangible, shoulder you can cry on.  I claim it as tangible because you can feel the vibrations in your body. Yet it isn’t a “thing” you can still feel it.  It stays with you. It makes you happy, it makes you sad, it has the power to make you think. It can even make you brave.

Music helps you get through life (an electric word life). The ups and downs. The passing of time. Your  break ups, divorce, heartbreaks. The happy times too. It pushes you out of bed. It gives you the will to keep trying.  Music can inspire so many things and make you feel so much emotion.

When you grow up with favorite artists and you keep them with you, they become like a family member. I don’t know exactly how to label my personal feelings for Prince. He was just a non descriptive family member. My rock.  A role model, teacher, a shoulder to cry on. Prince helped me when no one else had the time.

Prince had the power to make me feel okay to just be human. A woman. A woman who shouldn’t be ashamed or even afraid of her body or her sexuality. A confident being who was free to be just that. Confident. He made sure I knew that there was nothing wrong with me, and that anyone who had an issue with me, just had issues.  Anytime I felt like someone had something negative to say to me or about me, I could almost here Prince telling me “Girl, there ain’t shit wrong with you.”

prince

Cool means being able to hang with yourself All you have to ask yourself is ‘Is there anybody I’m afraid of? Is there anybody who if I walked into a room and saw, I’d get nervous?’ If not, then you’re cool.” Prince

I have a list of memorable quotes from Prince etched into my brain. Thoughtful and witty things that he said over the years that I could apply to my own life anytime I needed to.  A lot of them, as I stated above, were related to self esteem issues and life itself. Prince was no stranger to criticism.

Prince,  without a doubt, was a creative genius and even to say that just sounds so bland and incorrect. I have had trouble coming up with better words to describe this man. The truth is that there are no words in the English language to properly describe who Prince is or was to so many of us.

I know that God was pleased with him and He has welcomed Prince home. It was evident with the brightly covered rainbow that poured over Prince’s home and studio in Paisley Park. I don’t think that it was a coincidence that it was raining that day.

As I was driving home from work that night, it was still raining. When I turned on the radio, the station was playing Purple Rain. It was towards the end of the song. The end of the song is as amazing as the song itself. It was a surreal moment.

I cried for him. Purple Rain is definitely one of my favorites, but it’s clearly not the only song he wrote. If anyone only clung to his popular releases, they’ve missed out. Prince had an impressive catalog of songs for every moment.

Just to name a few:  Controversy, Diamonds and Pearls, The Most Beautiful Girl In the World, 1999, Pussy Control, I Would Die 4 U,When Doves Cry, Gett Off, 7, Let’s Go Crazy, Pop Life, Little Red Corvette,Raspberry Beret, Thieves In the Temple, Darling Nikki.

Prince wrote songs for other artists. A lot of people don’t know that he wrote the song “Manic Monday” that was made popular by The Bangles. He also wrote “Nothing Compares 2 U” for Sinead O’Connor.

Prince made me blush on more than one occasion and I loved it. He was so exciting.  I still remember as a young person figuring out the lyrics meant, from the song, “Little Red Corvette”, when he sang “She had a pocket full of horses, Trojan, and some of them used,”

His poetry was genius ( again not the right word to describe it) and every single thing he said and wrote made perfect sense and it flowed.

Prince is no doubt , the best guitarist that we’ve known in modern times. Just ask Eric Clapton. He will tell you.  It’s also not well known that Prince played a dozen instruments, a lot of them were self taught. He also played a major role in all of his production.

He was truly original.

I can’t express how disappointed I am that he had to go so soon. I don’t have the write words to say it.  Prince was such a beautiful, talented, generous and sweet man. The world has truly lost someone special. I am grateful for the music,  the videos, his personality, the persona, the style. Everything.

Thank you, Prince Rogers Nelson for helping me get through this thing called life.

The city of South Bend, Indiana paid tribute to Prince as well. In the gallery below are a few photo’s that I took around the city. The first three were found on an electric scrolling marquee.  The fourth photo is of our East Race River Walk on the St. Joseph River.  It’s so obvious that Prince touched the lives of millions. I am grateful that others are so free to express that, without care of popular opinion. That’s how Prince would have wanted it.

 

7 thoughts on “Farewell Sweet Prince- The Death of Prince Rogers Nelson

    • jennlives says:

      It’s a little depressing to know that the “greats” are passing away. There will never be anyone else like him. Sirius Satellite Radio ( I have it in my car ) has a Prince Tribute Channel currently and they’re playing everything from him. They’re also playing selections from artists who recorded songs that he wrote. That part has been fun. He wrote songs that I had no idea he wrote that I totally loved. No I idea he co-wrote Stand Back from Stevie Nicks, Pray from MC Hammer, Love, Thy Will Be Done from Martika and that one from Chaka Khan that is totally escaping me right now.. He had his hand in so much greatness. Sad. We really lost something with his death..

      Like

  1. heroesnpirates says:

    I’m sorry Prince’s passing was difficult for you.

    It saddens me that you had such a difficult childhood and hope you find more connection and emotional fulfilment as an adult! 🙂

    Like

    • jennlives says:

      I can see how this might seem foolish to others. Growing up as a lonely and awkward kid in a small town all I can say is that sometimes music and the artists are what keeps you company.. Go to the music section of the drug store ( we had one ) and visit your friends.

      Like

    • jennlives says:

      You know.. For a couple of months, I let it bother me a little bit that you said something like this to me. You don’t even know me and you didn’t actually get the message anyway. I always got the feeling that you thought I was some kind of moron. Oh well. It doesn’t matter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

