Absence

I hope that everyone is doing okay and that life is treating you well. 

I’ve not been around for awhile for a handful of reasons. 

I haven’t really been in a light hearted and positive mood. I feel like that has really affected the need and want to sit down and write. I have had a lot of material that I have collected for different experiences that I have had that I’ve wanted to share but I haven’t taken the time to sit down and write.

A lot of this has to do with what’s happening in our country, the world and politics. Politics play a huge role in my life since I have been a government employee my entire adult life. I worry about how things are going and I feel like I have to pay attention. 

It’s not a secret that I am not a fan of the media. Period. Which is funny and sad to me. When I was growing up, I dreamed of being a broadcast journalist, a field journalist and a writer. I was so into mass media and to see what it is now is really sad to me. I’m irritated by the interns that one of our local stations employ to serve as reporters and anchors. It’s nothing more than tabloid television on a local scale. Sadly though, it is everywhere. There’s no such thing as integrity in your hometown news. 

I feel like I am turning into the old man who rants about how this country is going to hell and following up a passionate rant with a pounding of my fist on the table before I get up and storm off. I’m not. I’m more sad about it. Sad that we attack our own heros and then wonder what went wrong after people create a false narrative and crisis. I’m even more shocked and saddened over how stupid people are. Or ignorant. Naive?

It’s just insane. 

I’ve been spending a lot of my otherwise free time helping to build our 911 center.  Since the federally enforced consolidation that happened nearly two years ago, we still haven’t been able to move into our new building.  It was probably a year ago at this time when the previous director announced he was resigning. He took me on a tour of the new building.  As he led me around I got ballsy and I asked him how drunk he was when he sent out a questionable e-mail to his subordinates. If you’re curious, his response was that he’d had “quite a few,”

Good riddance. 

The new director is a friend that I have known for a long time. I respect him. Any criticism of him feels like a criticism of myself and I am personally invested in making sure that he is a success, as much as I can. This has meant that I have had to sacrifice quite a bit, personally. I swore I would never do this again, but here I am.

Dom and I were involved in a minor traffic accident two weeks ago.  We are fine. My car was not. Luckily it wasn’t too horrible and it was repaired and I got it back about a week and a half later. I learned from my rental, that I really don’t like driving cars. It’s just weird. Ha!

I’ve also been questioning the direction of this blog and blogging in general. I wanted this blog to be more about my life as a single, working mother to a special needs child. I wanted to share my wisdom from the past, life etc. I also am an avid hiker, love history and wanted to share about local places.  I guess I still want to do that, but I also think that my insight to other things that are more politically charged or issue based might be a positive project for me as well. 

That’s where I am at with things.  

Leave a Reply

