Disheartened 

So.. How was your week?

On Tuesday, I wrote about how I took my son with me to vote in the election. I mentioned how I don’t discuss politics or religion with my friends and family members for the sole purpose of keeping the peace.

I don’t know what it’s like around your neck of the woods but around here, it wasn’t socially acceptable to have voted for either Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump. I realized that pretty quickly even before the election happened. People were incredibly nasty about opposing opinions and ideas.  That really motivate me to keep my mouth shut about my decisions.

I’m certainly not opposed to debate with anyone or even a lively conversation but I also don’t like to be hassled. I find the thought of a debate or even a lively discussion about either of the candidates and the issues to be exceptionally tiresome. Mostly because I know what awaits if my opinions don’t match theirs.

As I read about the “protests”,  and let’s face it and call it what it is, “riots” that are happening in the country after the results of the election,  it makes me think that this was more about “your candidate” winning or losing than it ever was about the issues and what’s really happening in our country.

I really don’t care who you voted for or why. It’s none of my business. I do take issue with violence and the destruction of property. At that point, your cause is lost to me. When you’re attacking police officers, setting things on fire, breaking out windows and holding up signs about raping Melania Trump, I no longer want to hear your concerns. I do not support that.

Maybe that opinion will be unpopular but I stand by it. While you do have the right to protest whatever you want to, you don’t have the right to attack people or destroy property. If I was Hillary Clinton, I would be embarrassed.

I made the mistake of responding to a post on Facebook to make that point. The Facebook belonged to a very smart woman who is educated, a professional and hails from the same small town that I am from.

She posted an article that justified the riots.

I’ve known this woman since I was probably five years old. When I touched on the violence and destruction and the fact that people were calling for the rape of Melania Trump and reminded them that it was not going to reverse the outcome of the election, I was informed that I was a racist, had no compassion for the human race along with some other horrible and hurtful accusations.

If you want to know how that felt, it was hurtful and it was rather shocking to me.

Two things.

1. My resume proves these accusations wrong. I’ve worked as a public servant since I was 22 years old. I’ll be 40 on December 1.  If you were to ask anyone who has ever encountered me they will tell you that I am kind, generous and fair. I’ve also saved the lives of countless strangers that I have never even met. I’d give you the shirt off my back if you needed it.

2. Nothing screams compassion for the human race like attacking a middle aged white guy that you suspect is a Trump supporter. Or calling for and encouraging the rape of Melania Trump. Or setting a business on fire. You’re hurting your communities and your cause.

I was unfriended and blocked on Facebook because I pointed out that what was happening was wrong. I’ve never told anyone who I voted for. However, I will never stand by and justify these things. Anyone in their right mind wouldn’t.

My 50 something cousin also unfriended and blocked me on Faceboook because she made a false statement and I told her she was wrong and then backed it up with facts. Again, I pointed out a fact and never once have voiced who I was supporting in the election. The problem with that was that I won’t allow a false narrative or an outright lie. I didn’t even say anything on her personal Facebook. It was on mine.

If you’ve ever wondered what your worth really was to the people in your life, you probably found out this past week.  My question at this point is, how do you come back from that? I can only assume in the months to come, if and when things settle down and people aren’t so angry, that the people who were that angry at you over your opinion might try to make amends. What if they do? What if they don’t though?

I should’ve listened to my grandfather and just scrolled right on by and kept my mouth shut. I shouldn’t have to but it would probably be better. I would at least still have my childhood friend and my cousin. It’s easy to say that I don’t need these women in my life but I don’t feel that way. Apparently, I wasn’t valued by them.

I value the people who are in my lives every day.

If you’re having disagreements with your friends and family please think twice before you allow things to get too heated or you make the decision to disown them.  These are the people who are standing by you and support you and are around you everyday.

Disappointing.

3 thoughts on “Disheartened 

  1. Rohvannyn says:

    Ah, finally a good, rational, reasonable post! This is like drinking fresh, cold, clean water after walking across the Sonora Desert in June with a broken canteen.

    I didn’t vote for either major candidate either. I don’t think the world’s going to end because of who won. I do think the rioting is ridiculous and completely uncalled for.

    I’ve also had to put my own mother and most of my online friends on “ignore” because they are defending their own views with a religious fervor bordering on mania and refuse to even listen to any facts. It makes my heart hurt but I’m not going to deny what I know to be true just because close friends think another way. Thank you, thank you for posting this.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jennlives says:

    I voted. I just keep my choices to myself.. Right is right and wrong is wrong. It really isn’t that difficult. I’m still, a week or so later, shaking my head at the behavior of others. It’s really eye opening and sad.

    It makes my head hurt too. I’m planning to skip Thanksgiving this year. I plan to have a small gathering of friends and others close to me instead. I think my ability to deal with what’s bound to be a messy dinner table debate between my mother and her siblings.

    They speak of love but it isn’t what they show us.

    It was wonderful to see such a nice response to this entry. When I saw I had a comment I was a little nervous haha. I’m sure that you can understand that. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. scrambler27 says:

    Yes, I would be nervous too. I want to echo Rohvannyn’s thoughts. As you say, right is right and wrong is wrong. There are actions people can take that are appropriate and rational but then people go to war over stupid things, too. As Calvin once asked his Dad in Calvin and Hobbes, “Dad, how do soldiers killing each other solve the world’s problems?” His father gave a puzzled look and that was that. They don’t. Violence, rape, etc never solve anything. Just a stupid way to vent anger and frustration.

    Keep up the good work, Jenn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

