Saturday DIY- Turning Glass Into Stone

While I was looking at paint for other projects that I am working on, I stumbled across this amazing invention. It’s spray paint that looks like stone after it dries.

Product retails $8.00

Product retails $8.00

I got the wild idea that I could buy cheaper flower pots at the dollar store and then paint them with this product and have fancy looking flower pots at a fraction of the cost.  Then I started to fantasize about the other projects I could do using this product.

Genius, right?  The spray cost about $8.00. It comes in the standard size spray paint can. It doesn’t have a special sprayer or anything. The only color options that I saw were silver, gold, and a brown or copper color. I chose silver.  I think it might actually need a primer but I didn’t buy it, probably because I didn’t notice it on the shelf. That is something that you might want to look into if you decide to use this on any projects.

Standard glass vase

Standard glass vase

I have a few glass vases in my cabinet that never serve their purpose. They aren’t very pretty to look at. I think that someone sent me flowers, once upon a time and they were the vases they flowers arrived in.  The people who sent them might be gone, along with the flowers, but I still have vases.  I hate throwing stuff like that out because you never know when you can use them.

I decided that one of these “throw away” vases would be my first victim. I caught myself looking at decorative vases to place on the mantle above the fireplace and on an oak hutch that I have in my living-room. I’m picky though. While I like designs, I also like things that are plain. I am good with anything that is someplace in the middle. Simplicity is best.

That was my thought as I attempted to turn a cruddy glass vase into stone.   I didn’t do anything to prepare the glass for application.  When you spray it on the glass it’s wet and clumpy and can be best described as being like wet ash from a cigarette.

Below is the vase after three applications.  I added one application and then let it dry. Then I applied more.  I learned quickly that if you don’t allow it to dry, the paint will blow across the glass. It also has the tendency to stick together and clump and run down the glass.  I mentioned using a primer above, I haven’t tried it. I do think that it would help the paint stick better and allow you to use less of the product.

After 3 applications

After 3 applications

Don’t forget to add some of the paint around the edge of the vase on the inside. I wouldn’t recommend applying the product on the inside of the vase if you are planning to fill it with water for flowers.   You will have to really look over  the glass to make sure that there are no gaps that you can see through. Short bursts of the product should fill in any small gaps that you might find.

I allowed the vase to sit over night and then applied the final application the next day.  When I was satisfied with the way that it looked I allowed it to dry completely before picking it up and spraying the bottom.  I then let it rest upside down to dry.

The finished product.

The finished product.

I am really happy with the final results.  The vase looks amazing with the bouquet of sunflowers that my mother brought me.

So pretty!

So pretty!

I recommend hand washing the project and allowing it to air dry.

This was a fairly easy “do it yourself” project.  It was also a really fun experiment and I couldn’t be more pleased with the results.

What are some do it yourself projects that you experimented with?  Good or bad, how did they turn out?

 

2 thoughts on “Saturday DIY- Turning Glass Into Stone

    • jennlives says:

      Thank you! I was really happy with it. The only down side to it is that you don’t want to submerge it in water to clean it as the paint will eventually start to come off. When I use it I try to change the water at least every other day so it doesn’t get that stinky smell that would require it to soak. Otherwise, it’s awesome. I am going to eventually try it on plastic and see how it does. I might actually get a primer for that though so the paint will stick to it better.

      I’m also curious about the mirror and “hammered” paint. I just tried chalk paint in a spray paint on a table I got to use as a plant stand. It is interesting.. That’s all I can say so far. Ha ha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

