Trip Around the Sun

Oh hi!

I managed to live to see 40 years old.

Hold your applause.

I was able to celebrate with Michael and Dom over a fantastic spaghetti dinner. I made the best garlic bread that I have ever wrapped in foil and reheated in the oven. It was delicious.  Michael surprised me with some thoughtful gifts that included a chocolate birthday cake with purple frosting. I like purple.

People always ask you your thoughts when you turn 40. I don’t know why. I don’t know that I am as wise or more wise than anyone else. I have some life experience, good and bad. I think I could write a memoir but it would be mostly filled with what not to do in life. I am an expert in the art of bad decisions.

I meet questions with a lot of shrugging.

I haven’t been horribly worried about my looks or getting older. I feel like my body started rejecting itself after I turned 32. That seems to be about the time that I started to crackle and pop anytime I got up from sitting too long. Aches and pains are just part of life.

I don’t know that I feel any different otherwise. It’s another age. I’m just glad that I wasn’t given black balloons or that anyone made a big deal out of it. It’s just another number. In addition to the usual aches and pains I notice that my body is different, but it doesnt’ bother me. I like myself.

In a way, when I look back, I am almost surprised that I lived to be 40. When I was younger, I used to engage in some seriously dangerous behavior. Jumping horses without saddles, breaking and training horses that were “problems” for other people, driving too fast, working in corrections, on the road as an officer, hiking alone in bear country, hiking alone in general, kayaking without a life jacket. You know, things.

I think I’ve done some pretty great things so far in my life.  I have some good stories. I took risks as a young person and had a great sense of adventure. I liked to explore and in a way I was fearless.  While I am sitting here typing all of this, it almost inspires me to go ahead and talk about the past more on the blog. I struggle sometimes when I consider content. I shouldn’t but I do. I want to inspire other people in life.

Anyway, I made it to 40. Here’s to another 40 years!

What about you?  Did you feel different at 40 or after? What was different?

3 thoughts on “Trip Around the Sun

Leave a Reply

