Breaking Free- Goodbye Writers Block

I woke up this morning and realized that I had what I refer to as an “epic dream”. I had a dream that was almost movie like. I could remember every scene, I felt every feeling and smell, touch. I can remember every character. I can remember their clothing and what they had in their hands and what they wanted for lunch.  I was blown away. I was completely and totally attached to all of the characters that I met. I would dare to say that I am in love with each and every one of them. 

The story was remarkable.  I can’t wait to dive in and tell it to the world.

I have been wanting to and trying to get my mind back into the place where I needed it to be to start writing again. I haven’t been in a really long time.  I think I am ready. This is it. This was the motivation that I needed.  I am excited about it. 

I had to work today, but I  still managed to spend about three hours jotting everything down. I wrote down the name of every single character, who they were and even what they did for a living. Then I wrote out an entire summery of what the story was about so I wouldn’t forget it. 

I then moved on to research the places that were mentioned in the dream or at least the areas surrounding them. While actual business weren’t mentioned, I was given an approximate location to reference back to. 

I have my art mostly collected, up to and including what I would want the cover of the book to look like. Fortunately for me, as far as my own gratification goes, one of my own photographs was chosen as an “inspirational piece” to look at and gather feeling from to continue to write the story. 

I even have a couple of songs chosen and a few poems. 

It might seem silly to do that but I find it to be a fantastic motivator. 

If you knew me a few years ago, I would have poem after poem.. Song after song. Short stories, long stories. Notebooks and journals. All of them filled with words and scribbles. I have missed that for so long. I already have several pages of a notebook filled with information and snippets of lyrics that I like. 

Tonight at work, when we weren’t busy, I told two of the women that I worked with about the book I am finally starting to write and the story that it will become. The first one said “Oh my God, I would read that book and probably buy it, ” The other one is not a reader and she said “I would totally go to that movie,”

Crazy.

This is an enormous gift to me from God. I have been waiting for this for a long time. 

2 thoughts on “Breaking Free- Goodbye Writers Block

Leave a Reply

