Prayers for Delphi- Double Homicide Of Two Teen Girls In A Small Town

On February 13, 2017, fourteen year old Liberty German and her friend, thirteen year old  Abigail Williams were dropped off near the Delphi Historic Trail System near the town of Delphi, Indiana.  Delphi s approximately 60 miles north and west of Indianapolis.

The girls had planned to hike in the area and were to be picked up later in the afternoon. They failed to arrive at the predesignated area. They were missing.  Twenty four hours later, their bodies were discovered in the woods, along the shore of Deer Creek. They had been murdered.

Liberty had posted some photographs to her Snapchat. One of the photo’s was of a strange man that they had seen in the area. It is unclear to me how many snaps were taken or if there was any further explanation from Liberty as to who this man was.  Liberty also managed to get audio of this man’s voice.

You can find more information, including the audio clip of the strange man’s voice on the media release from the Indiana State Police. The Indiana State Police have posted the man’s image and his voice for everyone to see and hear in hopes that someone might recognize this monster..

16995937_10211122456765016_2191998643800502202_n

I wish Liberty would have dialed 911. Just call and scream at a dispatcher.  Scream where you are, if you can, and for help. A good dispatcher will wear themselves out tracking you down. Literally, will  wear themselves out until they exhaust all of their efforts in doing so.

I wish we could have found them sooner. I  wish a lot of wishes.

Liberty was a brilliant girl. I can speculate that perhaps she knew that they were in serious trouble and that they weren’t going to be able to get out of it.  I can speculate that she sensed this and she did what she could to help us find the monster that took them from us.

To quote Sgt. Slocum of the Indiana State Police, “Libby is a hero,”

I am so angry that this has happened.  These girls should have been free to explore and to go on an adventure without the fear of a monster lurking in the brush. Just like I did when I was a girl. I would roam the countryside from sun up to sundown, without a care in the world.

All they wanted to do was go hiking.

I am confident that the person who is responsible for this will be found.I have total faith in all of the law enforcement agencies who are investigating their homicide.  I have no doubt, this monster will be found.

God will not give our girls back to us but he will deliver the person who is responsible for taking them from us. We will find this person. We will have our justice for Libby and Abby.

This morning, Dingo Lu and I went on our morning hike. It was the first morning hike we’ve been able to go on in a few weeks. Work, responsibilities and lack of ambition have been my excuses. It would have been a shame to waste the final day of unseasonably warm weather we’ve had.

As I made my way down our familiar path, I couldn’t help but think about Liberty and Abigail. It was hard not to. With the exception of the warm temperature, it was a typical gray sky, winter morning.

Lu and I sat on a small footbridge that covers a small creek and enjoyed the view and the sound of the water passing below us. I grieved for these girls and their families.  I prayed for them. I prayed for the capture of the man responsible for harming them.

I am an advocate for the outdoors.  I encourage women to get active and to get outside. No fear. Just do it. Get outside. I write blog posts and reviews for trail systems and parks for other organizations. Being an introvert, a lot of my favorite places are fairly remote.  It angers and frustrates me to think about how women and girls have to be so careful as we go about our day to day lives.

Guilty of just trying to enjoy life.

I stop and think, maybe I shouldn’t do that anymore?

Maybe I should issue more warnings about being safe.

I don’t know that I would change any of my practices moving forward. I still encourage women and girls to get outside and enjoy our Earth. I think that females are hardwired to be hyper aware and vigilant for their own safety, even if it’s subconsciously. It’s not paranoia, it’s survival.

I just exhaled a huge sigh.

I am angry. I am tired.I am hurt. I am terrified. I am horrified.

Most of all, I am angry…

Please say a prayer for the people of Delphi, Indiana. Say a prayer for the dispatchers, the police officers, the firemen, the paramedics, the countless volunteers and the families.

Pray that they can find peace..

2 thoughts on “Prayers for Delphi- Double Homicide Of Two Teen Girls In A Small Town

  1. rontuaru says:

    “Maybe I should issue more warnings about being safe.”

    Yes, please!

    I live right next to a Rails-to-Trails. (A Greenways project that converts old, no longer used railroad beds into public, linear state parks.) My section of the trail is only 2 miles from the nearest town, but it’s still VERY remote, and once you get past my house there are only 2 houses over the next 12 miles or so that are anywhere near the trail. Both sides of the trail abut one of the largest state forests in my state. It’s a deep, heavily wooded park that is littered with miles of mountain bike, hiking and horse trails. In the 35+ years I’ve lived here and used those trails on foot and on horseback, it’s rare to actually bump into anyone else out there.

    I’m setting the stage. Are you getting the picture? It’s remote, and yet accessible. People can and DO use the trail systems. Hunters use and know them. Bikers use and know them. Dirt bikers bike them. If someone wanted to get access to the Rails-to-Trails without being seen, it’s VERY easy. Easy to lay in wait for someone to harm. Very easy. Nobody would know. Nobody would hear or see you until it was too late.

    Now let me tell you what I can see from my own back yard. Three seasons out of four, I see kids … YOUNG kids … walk and bike past my house alone. (Alone meaning, zero parental supervision) Sometimes in twos and threes, but sometimes totally alone. These kids were dropped off by parents, some 2 miles away from my house and these kids have walked to and usually beyond my house, alone. Their ages range anywhere from 8 or 10 to mid-teens. They are often clueless in the ways of the woods. They’re just kids having some ‘away from Mom and Dad’ time. They are extremely vulnerable. I’m sure every one of them carries a phone, but few really know where they actually are. They don’t know where the nearest house might be IF they needed help and IF they could even reach it in time. Like I said before, houses are very few and far between. Miles apart.

    Let me tell you what else I see. Lots of women between the ages of 17 and 35 jogging, hiking and biking alone. Usually with a headset on. Often wearing minimal clothing if it’s hot or they’re exercising. They are VULNERABLE and they don’t even know it. They don’t even think about it. Why do I know that? Because when I was their age I didn’t think about it either. I just confidently went on my merry way, doing whatever I pleased and damn proud of it, thank you!

    Over the last 35 years I’ve typically spent at least an hour a day on either the Rails-to-Trails system or back in the State forest. It’s why I moved here. And yes, I’ve seen some ‘hairy’ stuff over the years. I’ve actually been in a potentially dangerous situation myself three times and I’m fairly certain those turned out OK for me because I was raised by a woodsman who taught me good back woods skills and safety. I’ve also taken two personal protection classes geared toward women, which taught me how to react in a potentially risky situation. I’ll never know for sure, but those two things may have saved my life.

    Women NEED to learn to be smart and proactive. We NEED to be TAUGHT to trust our gut instinct. Instead, society teaches us to suppress our fears and worries. It teaches women we should be “nice” or “helpful” to strangers or they’ll think we are a bitch. I could go on and on. Point is, women live in a dangerous world that I doubt will ever change. So the answer to that is not to go around living on high alert, but to use some common sense and learn some survival skills before walking into the woods. And while I’m sure you know that, it takes people like you and me ….women who love the freedom of being out there in the wild blue yonder …. to remind other women that it’s doable, but to remind them to always try to be SAFE.

    A really good book I read that might help : The Gift Of Fear (And Other Survival Signals That Protect Us From Violence) by Gavin De Becker.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jennlives says:

    Sorry it took me so long to respond to this, as usual, I have had a lot going on around here.

    First, I agree with you. Women need to be smarter about how they go about business. Is it unfair? Yes, but that’s how our world works. I don’t think the world has ever truly been safe for women and girls. Even stories in the Bible prove that. I think it would benefit us all to go through some sort of self defense instruction. I’ve been through several (job related) courses over the years. I’m going to look into the book you’ve suggested also..

    I visited the trail system in Delphi this past Friday. I was nearby and felt the strong urge to stop by and, in my own way, pay my respects to the girls and the community. I don’t think that I have visited Delphi since my senior year in highschool when they hosted our FFA District Leadership Awards. At least I think that is what we were doing there. We had a parliamentary procedure contest we were a part of.. Actually, it may have been both of those events. I don’t recall. It has been awhile. I’ve driven through a few times..

    The trail system is surprisingly “in town” and not as remote as I thought it was. The area is so rich in history and interesting. I wished I had more time to spend there. Regardless of the tragic event that happened.. What amazes me is that this guy was able to pull it off without anyone hearing them or noticing it etc…

    I did see women out on the trail jogging. Both of them were playing music on their cell phones that were attached to their bodies vs listening to ear buds. I did ask myself if that was a recent change to how they normally went running.

    I generally have a dog with me when I go out on the trails. I also carry a weapon of some sort. I have a permit to carry and would actually rather explain myself to the police than get raped or murdered or both. I also carry pepper spray in the event I come across dog and we’ve had black bears in the area. I’ve had some horrifying dog encounters so I always carry pepper spray for that purpose. Usually gets them to back off. I’ve yet to come across a black bear locally though they’ve been seen out and about in the area in the past two years. I’m actually more worried about people and the dogs than I am the black bears though. Anytime I’ve ran into a black bear out hiking they’ve all bolted to get away from me.

    I’ve also stopped sharing where I’ve been until I have been there and gone. I’m starting to fall away from social media a little more and more as time goes on. I like Instagram but I don’t post anything until I’m home and usually, it has been a day or two or sometimes a week later before I even post a neat photo I took.

    *sigh*

    I hope that law enforcement is close to making an arrest.. . These guys/gals are working nonstop to follow up leads and work on this.. I just hope the justice is coming soon.. Slow as the wheels may turn, they always turn..

    I hope you’re having a great week. Sorry if I seemed to ramble. My thoughts on all of this are all over the place.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

